Congratulations to our 2018 Festival Award Winners!

We screened 90 memorable films in 2018. Below is a list of the films that not only captivated the festival team, but our audience as well.

Award-Audience Choice.jpg

Audience Award: Rise: The Story of Augustines, Director by Todd Howe

Award-Best Experimental Feature.jpg

Best Experimental Feature: Santa Inocencia, Director Meritxell Campos Olivé 

Award-Best Narrative Feature.jpg

Best Narrative Feature: Funny Story, Director Michael Gallagher

Award-Best Student Work.jpg

Best Student-Produced Work: At Capacity, Directors Jazmine Corona; Joshua Cosbey; Andrea Diaz; Bianca Galeana; Jiaxun Gao; Carlos Gonzalez; Alexis Guzman; Michelle Hua; Tess Jagger-Wells; Noel Kabe; Enrique Labrada; Kelly Leonardson; Kathy Liang; Juliette Perrault; Bojun Qiu; Collette Quach; Tatianna Stapleton; James Tanjuatco; Hui Zhang 

Award-Earthvision Short.jpg

EarthVision Environmental Short Award: Umunhum, Director Andy Miller

Award 2018-Youth Film Award.jpg

Evan Kuhn Youth Film Award: Inclusion On The Air, Director Eli Canter

Award-Best Animated Work.jpg

Best Animated Work: Elizabeth Sees, Director by Val Magarian 

Award-Best Experimental Short.jpg

Best Experimental Short: Homo Feminus, Director Rita Solomko 

Award-Best Narrative Short.jpg

Best Narrative Short: Cue Jane, Director Qianzi Gao

Award-Director's Award for Artistic Merit.jpg

Director’s Award for Artistic Merit: I Can Only Be Mary Lane, Director Jesseca Ynez Simmons

Award-Spirit of Action Feature.jpg

Spirit of Action Prize (Feature): STROOP - Journey into the Rhino Horn War , Director Susan Scott

Award-Visionary Women.jpg

Female Filmmaker Award: Worlds of Ursula K.Le Guin, Director Arwen Curry

Award-Best Documentary Feature.jpg

Best Documentary Feature: Industrial Accident: The Story of Wax Trax Records, Director Julia Nash 

Award-Best Locally Produced Work.jpg

Best Locally-Produced Work: Goshen, Directors Dana Richardson and Sarah Zentz

Award-Best Documentary Short.jpg

Best Short Documentary: Calm Before…The Rising Storm, Director Andrew Brier

Award-Earthvision Feature.jpg

EarthVision Environmental Feature Award: Fireland Dogs, Director Juan Dickinson

Award-Spirit of Action Short.jpg

Spirit of Action Prize (Short): Holy Week: The Story of the 2016 Sacred Peace Walk , Director James Knight